Professors at WSSU Awarded Tenure, Promoted

April 24, 2013
Winston-Salem State University (WSSU) has issued its list of faculty members who have been awarded tenure and have earned promotions, all of which will be effective July 1.

Three faculty members have earned tenure based on their teaching excellence, student success, professional attainment, leadership and service.  They are:  Dr. Audrey Miller, professor of physical therapy in the School of Health Sciences; Dr. Uchenna Vasser, associate professor of Spanish in the College of Arts and Sciences; and Dr. Stephen Aragon, associate professor of management in the School of Business and Economics.

Dr. Notis Pagiavlas has been promoted to professor of marketing.  Twenty-four faculty members have been promoted to associate professor with tenure.  They are:  Dr. Shannon Matthews, gerontology; Dr. Janella Melius and Dr. Isiah Marshall, social work; Dr. Sayo Fakayode, analytical chemistry; Dr. John Merle, computation chemistry; Dr. Mustafa Atay, information technology; Dr. Mohammad Fuad, computer science/architecture; Dr. Rose Sackeyfio, English, Dr. David Kump, physiology; Dr. Steven Viscido, organismal biology; Dr. Frank Ingram, mathematics; Dr. Naomi Hall-Byers and Dr. Christopher Stanley, psychology; Dr. Eric Greaux, Sr., social sciences; Dr. Denise Nation, justice studies, Dr. Russell Smith, geography, Dr. Cynthia Villagomez Middle Eastern studies; Dr. Lynette Wood and Dr. Nikolaos Karagiannis, economics; Dr. Chad Betters, rehabilitation; Dr. Jamie Robbins, exercise science; Dr. Paul McAuley, health education; Dr. Jo Ann Coco-Ripp, therapeutic recreation; and Dr. Jeffrey Meixner, microbiology.

Return to News Listing

Winston-Salem State University

601 S. Martin Luther King Jr. Drive

Winston-Salem, NC 27110

Phone: (336) 750-2000

Follow WSSU on FacebookFollow WSSU on TwitterWSSU is on Youtube
WSSU Photos on FlickrRamPages BlogWSSU is on Instagram
Copyright © 2016 Winston-Salem State University