Construction Date: 1925
In 1923, the North Carolina General Assembly appropriated funding for the construction of a building at Slater Industrial Academy and State Normal School, to be used for classrooms and administration. As a result of the State of North Carolina's generosity, the building, completed in 1925, was named Carolina Hall. It originally housed the president's office and boardroom, administrative offices, library, Bursar's Office, and science laboratories.
In 1954, Carolina Hall underwent a renovation and a Reading Clinic was created in the building.
In 1967, the building again received a renovation, as the former library facilities were converted into additional classrooms and faculty offices. The Enrichment Center, which contained special learning aids, opened on the lower floor of Carolina Hall when the renovations were completed. In 1983, this lower floor of the building was converted into an art gallery that served as home to the Selma Burke collection.
In 2004, Carolina Hall underwent another renovation, this time to re-configure spaces used by the First Year Experience and Academic Support Services, in addition to the Department of Mathematics. The renovation also included modernization of mechanical, electrical and plumbing systems, accessibility upgrades, and installation of instructional support equipment.