College of Arts and Sciences

Mass Communications Rammie Awards

ram sun 
Best Editorial

Tamika Green

Best Newspaper Feature
Steven Gaither

Best Radio Announcer
Marvin Lattimore

Best Television Short
LaToya Porter

Best Television Host
Jerome Hancock

Best Television Reporter
Ashleigh Taylor

Best Photography
Sherrod Patterson

Best Television Promo
Jessica Parson

Each spring the Rammie Awards honor the best in student radio, television and newspaper journalism. Students nominate their best work. Nominations are reviewed by a panel of media professionals who select the winners.

Students produce and host the award ceremony which occurs during the annual mass communications conference. The show is taped for later broadcast on RAM-TV21 student television. The first Rammies were awarded in 2002.

Mass Communications Rammie Awards

Ashleigh Taylor ('07) shows off the Wendie A. Norton Award plaque. Taylor received the Norton award, the Mass Communications Club's top honor, at the 2007 Rammies ceremony. The award, established in memory of an exceptional 2001 graduate, recognizes outstanding scholarship and service to the club and the department.

Mass Communications Rammie Awards

Steven Gaither ('08) cradles two Rammies he won for his journalistic skills. He was also the recipient of the 2007 Stephen A. Smith Award as the department's top student journalist. The award was established by the WSSU Association of Black Journalists to honor the 1992 graduate who has become a nationally renowned sports journalist and media personality.

Winston-Salem State University

601 S. Martin Luther King Jr. Drive

Winston-Salem, NC 27110

Phone: (336) 750-2000

Copyright © 2013 Winston-Salem State University