Carthene R. Bazemore-Walker, Ph.D.

Director of Science Initiatives / Associate Professor of Chemistry

Carthene R. Bazemore-Walker, Ph.D.

201 Blair Hall
(336) 750-8049 (p)
(336) 750-2202 (f)
Curriculum Vitae


Carthene R. Bazemore-Walker is Director of Science Initiatives and Associate Professor of Chemistry at Winston-Salem State University.  She is also adjunct Associate Professor of Chemistry at Brown University.  Professor Bazemore-Walker's research utilizes proteomic technologies primarily for the characterization of membrane proteins, their post-translational modifications, and their binding partners. Prior to joining the faculty at Winston-Salem State University, she was a member of the faculty at Brown University, the University of Virginia, and Norfolk State University.  

Professor Bazemore-Walker graduated summa cum laude with her B.S. degree in Chemistry from Norfolk State University. She was a duel David and Lucile Packard Fellow and a University of Virginia Graduate Presidential Fellow while working on her Ph.D. degree in Chemistry with Professor Donald F. Hunt. Professor Bazemore-Walker completed her postdoctoral research at Massachusetts Institute of Technology with Professor Lawrence J. Stern and at Praecis Pharmaceuticals, Incorporated where she was Supervisor of the Mass Spectrometry group.  

Educational Background

  • Postdoctoral training in Biological Chemistry, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  • Ph.D. Analytical Chemistry, University of Virginia
  • B.S. Chemistry summa cum laude, Norfolk State University

Research and Projects Interests:

  • Proteomics
  • Bioanalytical Chemistry

Selected Publications:

Cao, Y. and Bazemore-Walker, C. R. “Proteomic Profiling of the Surface-exposed Cell Envelope Proteins of Caulobacter crescentus,” J Proteomics. 2014, 97:187-94. Epub 2013 Aug 21. PMID: 23973469

Leymarie N, Griffin PJ, Jonscher K, Kolarich D, Orlando R, McComb M, Zaia J, Aguilan J, Alley WR, Altmann F, Ball LE, Basumallick L, Bazemore-Walker CR, Behnken H, Blank MA, Brown KJ, Bunz SC, Cairo CW, Cipollo JF, Daneshfar R, Desaire H, Drake RR, Go EP, Goldman R, Gruber C, Halim A, Hathout Y, Hensbergen PJ, Horn DM, Hurum D, Jabs W, Larson G, Ly M, Mann BF, Marx K, Mechref Y, Meyer B, Möginger U, Neusüβ C, Nilsson J, Novotny MV, Nyalwidhe JO, Packer NH, Pompach P, Reiz B, Resemann A, Rohrer JS, Ruthenbeck A, Sanda M, Schulz JM, Schweiger-Hufnagel U, Sihlbom C, Song E, Staples GO, Suckau D, Tang H, Thaysen-Andersen M, Viner RI, An Y, Valmu L, Wada Y, Watson M, Windwarder M, Whittal R, Wuhrer M, Zhu Y, Zou C.. “Interlaboratory Study on Differential Analysis of Protein Glycosylation by Mass Spectrometry: the ABRF Glycoprotein Research Multi-Institutional Study 2012,” Mol Cell Proteomics. First Published on June 13, 2013, doi: 10.1074/mcp.M113.030643 mcp.M113.030643. PMID: 23764502

Poston, C. N. and Bazemore-Walker, C. R. “In-depth analysis of the mammalian mitochondria-associated membrane (MAM) proteome,” J Proteomics. 2013, 79:219-30. Epub 2013 Jan 8. PMID: 23313214

Chen, S., Lu, C., Gu, H., Mehta, A., Li, J., Romano, P., Horn, D., Hooper, D.C., Bazemore-Walker, C. R., and Block, T. “Aleuria Aurantia Lectin (AAL)-reactive immunoglobulin G rapidly appears in sera of animals following antigen exposure,” PLoS ONE 2012, 7(9): e44422. doi:10.1371/journal.pone.0044422. PMID: 23024749

Cao, Y., *Johnson, H. M. and Bazemore-Walker, C. R.  “Improved enrichment and proteomic identification of outer membrane proteins from a Gram-negative bacterium: Focus on Caulobacter crescentus,” Proteomics., 2012,12(2):251-62. Epub 2011 Dec 19. PMID: 22106052

Poston, C. N., *Duong, E., Cao, Y. and Bazemore-Walker, C. R. “Proteomic Mapping of Lipid-raft Enriched Membranes Isolated from Internal Organelles,” Biochem. Biophys. Res. Commun., 2011, 415(2):355-60. Epub 2011 Oct 20. PMID: 22037461

*indicates undergraduate author

Additional Information:

Winston-Salem State University

601 S. Martin Luther King Jr. Drive

Winston-Salem, NC 27110

Phone: (336) 750-2000

Copyright © 2010-2014 Winston-Salem State University