Skip to main content

Board of Visitors

The Board of Visitors is an advisory organization of the university and therefore has the following functions:

  • To advise the Board of Trustees and the Chancellor on matters related to maintaining and enhancing the quality and excellence of Winston-Salem State University.
  • To assist the university in achieving its mission.
  • To provide feedback to the Chancellor, Vice Chancellors, and Deans of the major academic units on matters including, but not limited to, program development, curriculum development, student development, employment opportunities for graduates, institutional partnership opportunities, etc.
  • To assist Winston-Salem State University in fund raising and obtaining needed resources for the continued enhancement of the university.
  • To serve as advocates for the university in the larger community of county, state, region and nation. 


Dr. L'Tanya Bailey

Ms. Donna Oldham
Vice Chair

Ms. Alison Y. Ashe-Card

Mrs. Coretta Bigelow

Ms. Nicole Ferguson Carr

Mr. Michael L. Clements

Ms. Carrie Collins

Mr. Donald K. Dunn

Ms. Mae C. Godette

Ms. Tyyawdi M. Hands

Dr. William U. Harris

Ms. Cherita Marks-Davis

Dr. Johnnie McFadden

Mr. James McNeil

Mr. Carl J. Miller

Mr. Harrison Porter

Rev. Prince Raney Rivers

Mr. Anthony O. Shipman

Dr. Glenda P. Sims

Allston J. Stubbs III, M.D

Mr. Daniel Torian

Mr. Kelvin Lewis Walton

Mr. Eugene L. Weeks

Mr. Harry Williams

Mr. Christopher Wilson