College of Arts and Sciences

Faculty and Staff

Elva J. Jones, Ph.D.
Department Chair

Professor of Computer Science
4203 Elva Jones-Computer Science
336-750-2485
jonese@wssu.edu
• B.S., Winston-Salem State University, Winston-Salem, NC
• M.S., University of North Carolina-Greensboro, Greensboro, NC
• M.S., Ph.D., North Carolina State University, Raleigh, NC
Mustafa Atay, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
3215 Elva Jones-Computer Science
336-750-8641
ataymu@wssu.edu
• B.S., Hacettepe University, Ankara Turkey
• M.S., Fatih University, Istanbul Turkey
• Ph.D., Wayne State University, Detroit MI 

Jinsuk Baek, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
3205 Elva Jones Computer Science
336-750-2496
baekj@wssu.edu
• B.S., M.S., Hankuk University of Foreign Studies, Korea
• Ph,D., University of Houston, Houston TX 

Jaswant S. Bajwa, Ph.D.
Professor
3211 Elva Jones-Computer Science
336-750-2496
bajwaj@wssu.edu
• B.S., M.S., Punjab Agricultural University, Punjab
• M.S., Utah State University, Logan UT
• M.S., Atlanta University, Atlanta GA
• Ph.D., Auburn University, Auburn AL 

Mr. James Belton
Lecturer\Systems Administrator
4209 Elva Jones-Computer Science
336-750-2474
beltonj@wssu.edu

  
Ms. Jacqueline Bethea
Lecturer
Graduate Program Assistant
4211 Elva Jones-Computer Science
336-750-2478
betheaj@wssu.edu
• B.A., Winston-Salem State University, Winston-Salem, NC
• M.S., North Carolina A & T State University, Greensboro, NC

  
E. Rebecca Caldwell, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
3203 Elva Jones-Computer Science
336-750-2493
caldwellr@wssu.edu
• B.S., University of North Carolina-Greensboro, Greensboro, NC
• M.S., Atlanta University, Atlanta, GA
• Ph.D., University of North Carolina-Greensboro, Greensboro, NC 

   
Christo Dichev, Ph.D.
Associate Professor
4210 Elva Jones Computer Science
336-750-2477
dichevc@wssu.edu
• B.S., M.S., Ph.D., Sofia University, Sofia Bulgaria
• Ph.D., Kiev University, Kiev, Ukraine 

  
Darina Dicheva, Ph.D.
Paul B. Fulton, Delta Sigma Theta Distinguished Professor
3206 Elva Jones-Computer Science
336-750-2484
dichevad@wssu.edu
B.S., M.S., Ph.D., Sofia University Faculty of Mathematics and Informatics, Sofia Bulgaria 

Paul Fisher Ph.D.
R.J. Reynolds Distinguished Professor
4212 Elva Jones-Computer Science
336-750-2473
fisherp@wssu.edu
• B.A., M.A., University of Utah, Salt Lake City, UT
• Ph.D., Arizona State University, Tempe AZ 

Mohammad Fuad, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
3207 Elva Jones-Computer Science
336-750-3325
fuadmo@wssu.edu
• B.S., Shahjalal University of Science and Technology, Bangladesh
• M.S., The University of Adelaide, Australia
• Ph.D., Montana State University, Bozeman MT 

Ms. Willie Mae Frazier
Lecturer
Undergraduate Program Assistant
4213 Elva Jones Computer Science 336-750-2668
frazierw@wssu.edu
• B.S., M.S., Winston-Salem State University, Winston-Salem, NC

  
Shin Shan Jou, Ph.D.
Professor
4214 Elva Jones-Computer Science
336-750-2497
jous@wssu.edu
• B.S., National Taiwan University, Taipei City Taiwan
• M.A., Ph.D., University of Waterloo, Waterloo, ON, Canada 

  
Sandria Kerr, Ph.D.
Professor– Retired
3203 Elva Jones-Computer Science
336-750-2495
kerrs@wssu.edu
• B.A., College of Wooster, Wooster, OH
• M.A., Bryn Mawr College, Pennsylvania
• Ph.D., Cornell University, Ithaca, NY 

Jinghua Zhang, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
3213 Elva Jones-Computer Science
336-750-3324
zhangji@wssu.edu
• B.S., Changchun University of Science and Technology, China
• M.S., Ph.D., Michigan State University, East Lansing MI 
 Ms. Cheryl Moore
Administrative Secretary
4206 Elva Jones-Computer Science
336-750-2480
moorec@wssu.edu

Winston-Salem State University

601 S. Martin Luther King Jr. Drive

Winston-Salem, NC 27110

Phone: (336) 750-2000



Library
Athletics
FOLLOW WSSU
FacebookTwitterYoutube
FlickrBlog
Copyright © 2013 Winston-Salem State University