14 inducted into Heritage Society

2016 members of Heritage Society with Chancellor Robinson

Winston-Salem State University (WSSU) inducted 14 new members into the Heritage Society, established to honor individuals who have created a lasting legacy at the university by establishing an endowed fund or included the university in their estate plans.

Inductees include two current trustees and ESPN commentator Stephen A. Smith.

The inductees are:

  • Joy Carew
  • William ’58 and Estelle Harris ’60
  • Cheryl Harrison ’82
  • Douglas and Susan Henderson
  • Eunice Jessup ’72
  • DaBeth Manns
  • James McNeil ’67
  • Sara Migliarese
  • Olásopé O. and Eileen Wilson Oyèláràn (inducted in 2015)
  • Stephen A. Smith ’91
  • Cynthia Williams

Each inductee attending the ceremony received a pin with the logos of the Archway and the Heritage Society on it. The Archway represents a depiction of the stone and mortar structures strong and lasting foundation of the university. The heritage logo symbolizes a gift for generations from alumni and friends who ensure the foundation for all students’ endless pathways through the arches.

There are more than 70 members now in the Heritage Society, which has raised more than $2 million to help students pursue their education.

For more information on giving opportunities at WSSU, please call 336-750-3114.

More News

WSSU celebrates Atkins’ legacy

As WSSU celebrated its 125th anniversary, the university took time to honor the visionary who created it on Sept. 28, 1892.

Read Moreabout WSSU celebrates Atkins’ legacy

Walk in Simon Green Atkins’ footsteps

Here are seven ways you can follow in the footsteps of WSSU’s founder while on campus.

Read Moreabout Walk in Simon Green Atkins’ footsteps

Meet the 2017-18 Mr. and Miss WSSU

It’s an exciting time to be a WSSU Ram. As WSSU celebrates its 125th anniversary, WSSU News caught up with Jerel Smith and Jordan Reaves, this year’s Mr. and Miss WSSU, to discuss the 125th, campus life, future endeavors and more.


Read Moreabout Meet the 2017-18 Mr. and Miss WSSU