Skip to main content

University Updates on Coronavirus

WSSU celebrates staff at 2017 Chancellor’s Achievement Awards

Winston-Salem State University (WSSU) celebrated the accomplishments of  staff during the 2016-2017 academic year with the Chancellor’s Achievement Awards on Wednesday, May 24.

“I want to let you know that we do see you,” said Lester Arnold, associate vice chancellor and chief human resources officer. “We see your dedication. We see your innovative ideas and exciting initiatives. We see all of the things that you do, big and small, that make an enormous impact on the campus community. This ceremony is a way for us to bring all of these things to light.”

The awards portion of the ceremony began by acknowledging staff members who were celebrating service anniversaries. This recognition was given based on the employee’s years of service to the state of North Carolina in increments of five years. Dr. Shirley Manigault was recognized for 40 years of service.

Award recipients were chosen through a campuswide nomination process under the guidelines that the nominee has met or exceeded the benchmark set by the WSSU Strategic Plan. Individual award winners received a cash prize. First place winners received $1,000; second place, $750; third place, $500. Team award members received RAMMY Awards.

“The RAMMY Awards were created to celebrate the achievements of individuals and teams from across the campus who “live and breathe” the mission and vision of WSSU,” Arnold said. “The Strategic Plan is our blueprint for spelling out successes for the university.”

Entertainment for the Chancellor Achievement Awards was provided by WSSU faculty and staff.

RAMMY Awards

Individual Awards

  • Student Centeredness: first place, Frederick VanSwearingen; second place, Deona Cureton and Shirley Wilson; third place, Chelii Broussard
  • Excellence: first place, Charles Parrott; second place, Carmen Berrier; third place, Mary Wilkerson
  • Stewardship: first place, James DuBose; second place, Ben Young, third place, Rickey Busch
  • Integrity: first place, Karen Dominique, second place, Frederick Whitaker, third place, Angela Jones
  • Social Justice: first place, Aaron Jackson; second place; Sonia Barbre; third place: Theodore “Ted” Fichialos
  • Trust: first place, Tim Pittman; second place: Debbie Jackson
Team Awards

Social Justice
  • Health and Wellness Committee
  • Staff Senate Workplace Improvement Team
Liberal Education
  • UCaLL Advising Services
  • C.G. O’Kelly Library Staff
  • RAMDITION 2.0 and Implementation Team
  • Team B.O.S.S.
Revenue and Stewardship
  • Giving Tuesday (University Advancement, Integrated Marketing and Communications and Office of Information Technology Web Support Services)
  • Brand Rollout (Integrated Marketing and Communications)
  • 2017 UNC Finance Conference Team
  • Passport Office
Physical and Operational Infrastructure
  • Website Redesign Team (Information Technology and Integrated Marketing and Communications)
  • Design & Construction Special Projects Unit
  • Operations and Maintenance team for the Boiler Plant
The awards opened with this video featuring faculty and staff. 

More News

Vote to #RetoolYourSchool 2020

WSSU is competing for up to $50,000 in grants as part of Home Depot’s 2020 Home Depot Retool Your School Campus Improvement Grant Program.

Read Moreabout Vote to #RetoolYourSchool 2020

Future soldiers sworn-in from space at WSSU

Twelve future soldiers took the oath of enlistment on Winston-Salem State University’s campus during a mass Future Soldier Swearing-in Ceremony administered from space by Army astronaut Col. Andrew Morgan on Feb. 26.

Read Moreabout Future soldiers sworn-in from space at WSSU

WSSU, WFU honor Winston-Salem sit-in participants

More than 200 Winston-Salem residents gathered to commemorate the 60th anniversary of the Winston-Salem sit-in on Sunday, Feb. 23.

Read Moreabout WSSU, WFU honor Winston-Salem sit-in participants