Faculty Senate

"Student Centered and Faculty Driven"

Welcome from the Faculty Senate Chair

Colleagues, I hope you had a restful and productive summer. Some of you did not leave, others took a short vacation, and for some this is your first time on campus. To all of you, I say welcome! For those who are new to Winston-Salem and to WSSU’s campus, I hope you find it as exciting, enriching, and rewarding as I have found it. I look forward to meeting each of you and sharing my WSSU experiences. I hope you plan to make this your home for a very long time.

It is a great pleasure for me to be serving as your newly elected Faculty Senate Chairperson. We are excited about this new academic year and the unlimited opportunities that are ahead of us. The Faculty Senate Executive Committee and your Senators look forward to representing you. The actions that the Senate takes affect almost all aspects of your University life. It’s important that we hit the ground running. You have already received a short form from us requesting your top priorities for the Faculty Senate this year. Your feedback will help shape our plans for the upcoming academic year. We want to be sure that the things we do are informative and beneficial to you.

All of us have to do our part to move this University to the next level, so it is vitally important that you be familiar with the policies of your department and university-wide policies. An informed professor is an engaging professor. Shared Governance is all about being engaged at all levels of the academy, so that we can be a meaningful part of the decision making process. Engaging also mean, attending in large numbers our general faculty meetings. So, bring a colleague to hear about the important and exciting things happening in your College or School. On that note, the first general faculty meeting is August 24, 2017 in 228 Hall Patterson from 3:30 p.m. to 5:00 p.m.

I cannot think of another University I would rather be at than this “Student-Centered and Faculty Driven University.” To all of you, thank you for choosing to be part of this great institution, welcome, and have a great year.

B. Lee Stackhouse
Chair, Faculty Senate